Operant

So, this week, I’m spending an inordinate amount of time doing an activity I dislike and find tedious (farming), repeatedly hitting a boss I don’t find fun that drops loot I don’t need in the service of the possibility of having the chance to roll on a pet, which I don’t collect. I am also doing all manner of silly things I ordinarily never would, in order to get a title I will not use. I do this roughly once a month, even going through silly difficulty challenges during a mode of play I also don’t enjoy (PvP). All of this I will do, on time I am paying for, in order to obtain a purple dragon.

If B.F. Skinner were still alive, he would give the Blizzard developers a kiss with tongue. Most theorists don’t get to see proof like that unless they’re physicists, it’s wartime, and the government has a compelling reason to fund their science fair project.

2 Responses to Operant

  1. Kristopher says:

    Actually, that drake isn’t really purple. Or violet.

    It’s kinda pink.

    Like the giant pink love rocket you can ride if you get lucky with the zombie apothecaries you are tanking right now.

  2. LabRat says:

    Yeah, I’d call it “fuschia” rather than “violet”. And truth be told, I also think it’s breathtakingly ugly- but, in the same way as the pink love rocket, I think it’s so awful I come back around to liking it again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

